Book Review: Backward Compatible by Sarah Daltry & Pete Clark

19311332

I was provided a ebook copy through NetGalley in exchange for a honest review

Summary:

A YA Gamer Geek Comedy in the vein of Scott Pilgrim and Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist. Ideal for fans of The Big Bang TheoryThe Guild, and all things Joss Whedon.

WARNING: There is no sex in this book. Your Kindle or other device will remain at a pleasant room temperature. At no point will your panties drop. Your significant other will be allowed to snore in peace as you read. You may, however, laugh yourself out of commission.

Not too long ago, in a town that, depending on your current location, is either not super far or actually quite close… (insert Star Wars theme music here…)

It is a time of chaotic hormones.

Two nerdy gents home for winter break have discovered a female gamer at a midnight release.

During the break, the gamer trio manages to reveal the game’s secret boss, a hidden enemy with enough power to destroy anything in its path.

Review:

Let’s start of with the bad to get it out of the way. I was really disappointed by the amount of swear words and innuendoes throughout the entire novel. There were too many for my liking and I even think for most people.

The romance was cute. George and Katie are both funny and perfect for each other. Even though I didn’t know half of the gaming vocabulary, I was still able to enjoy the novel. I have not read a novel where a lot of secondary characters are present in the novel constantly until now. I don’t think it can work unless its in this novel’s setting. The secondary characters didn’t feel two-dimensional at all. They all had distinct voices, which helps a lot when at one point there are 12 characters involved at the same time. I’m telling you, this book is crazy in a really good way. Also, having both George’s and Katie’s POV worked really well for the novel. It added that much more to it and made it even funnier.

If you are a fan of cosplay, gaming, and any other “geeky” things as the system likes to call them, well then you have found the novel for you.

But seriously, if you don’t like a lot of swear words or innuendos in your novels, don’t read this book. I regret reading it even though I loved the romance between these two adorable geeks. GATIE ALL THE WAY!

Rating: 4/5

Advertisements

One thought on “Book Review: Backward Compatible by Sarah Daltry & Pete Clark

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s